Middletons Hotel – York City Centre

The House of Daniel Thwaites
York, Inside York City Walls

Centred around a picturesque courtyard garden within York’s historic city walls, Middletons Hotel comprises 56 bedrooms spread across eight different buildings – six of which are Grade II and Grade II* listed – together with restaurant and leisure facilities.

Middletons has been operating as a hotel since the 1970s. Daniel Thwaites acquired the property in 2017 and appointed Bowman Riley to support the phased redevelopment of the site. An initial review of the hotel revealed that many of the bedrooms were tired and in need of refurbishment with aspects of acoustics and fire protection between bedrooms in need of updating.

The design concept at the Middletons Hotel is to celebrate the history of each building whilst adding elements of modern guest experience that people expect from a city centre hotel.  This design plays on the unique characteristics related to the heritage of each part of the site.

The first phase of works started on site in January 2019 following lengthy negotiations with York City Council and involved the refurbishment of 18 bedrooms within Cromwell House and Sir Joseph Terry Cottages, which comprises two guest suites.

The Grade II 19th Century Cromwell House was originally a sawmill complex and one of the walls at the far end of The Sawmill restaurant is actually part of an old city jail.

Designed by the architect Walter G. Pentry in 1899, the Grade II Listed Sir Joseph Terry Cottages were former almshouses funded by public subscription in memory of Sir Joseph Terry, former mayor.

The hotel remained in operation throughout the works but careful coordination between the hotel manager, client and contractor ensured that disruption to guests was kept to a minimum. The bedrooms and guest suites were handed over in April 2019 to the delight of the guests. Bowman Riley also acted as the principal designer during the works to ensure health and safety compliance.

In 2022, we returned to the project to begin designing the second phase of works involving the refurbishment of the Grade II* listed Lady Anne House over two floors with 19 rooms.  This listed building takes its name from Dame Anne Middleton, who was the wife of the Sheriff of York in 1659 and funded the hospital. In 1829, the property was rebuilt and extended.  By 1972 it was nearly derelict when it was purchased and incorporated into the hotel. In the centre of the front is a statue of a woman, which is believed to survive from the original building.  At Lady Anne House, we are designing the refurbishment of the bedrooms, replacing bathrooms and adding new secondary glazing and air conditioning along with external works.

Further phases at Middletons Hotel will comprise the conversion of function rooms within the Organ Factory into two guest suites, works to Chaplin House, no. 56 Skeldergate and Staff House.

See more of our hotel experience here or contact us to talk about your development ideas.